The Castro Valley Arts Foundation (CVAF) Scholarship was initiated in 2009. The Scholarship is a monetary award for college bound CVHS seniors who have contributed to arts programs at the Castro Valley Center for the Arts. Initially conceived as a Theatre Arts scholarship, it was expanded in 2011 to include all of the arts disciplines practiced at the CFA.

Funding for scholarships is provided by the community who purchase concessions at CVAF shows at the Castro Valley Center for the Arts. Multiple scholarships may be awarded in the same year depending on the amount collected and typically range between $300 - $500.

Applications for the scholarship are available through the Castro Valley Education Foundation each spring for CVHS seniors who will graduate in that same school year. All applications are reviewed by members of the CVAF Board, and are distributed at the CVHS Senior Awards night.


2017 winner2017 - Victoria Quijano (UC Davis); Leah Procita (Cal Poly, SLO); Jessica Mi (Stanford); Carly Becerra (SF State)

2016 winner2016 - Taylor Wade (Emerson); Taralyn Wallace (Univ of Nevada, Reno); Riley McCullough (Colorado State); Emma Iredale (Manhattanville); Samantha Ismael (AADA, LA); Samuel Troxell (CSUEB)

2014 winner2015 - Eleanor Kaj (UOP); Michael French (Portland State); Chloe Billings (CSULB); Samantha Cowan (Las Positas); Grey Janowski (CSU SJ)

2014 winner2014 - Mary Troxell (CSUEB); Christina Kaser (UC Berkeley)

2013 winner2013 - Mark Goddin(Los Positas); Trevor Fontana-Acebo(Sonoma State); Matthew Skinner(UC Davis); Hayley Mason (Emerson College); Kane Ashton(Cal State East Bay)

2012 winner2012 - Erin Sullivan (NYU); Tara Steward (Chapman); Justin Bell (CSU San Francisco); Anna Balassone (UC Berkeley)

2011 winner2011 - Michael Small (UC Davis)

2010 Winners2010 - Rachel Wagner (UC Davis); Monroe Ekilah (USC); Megan Sullivan (USC)

2010 Winners2009 - Amanda Sylvia (CSU Fullerton); Caitlyn Lushington (UC Irvine); Jordan Mackey (UC Riverside)